Kicking coffeehouse coffee to the curb

In my household I might be know as something of a coffee snob.  What can I say I LOVE my Starbucks.  Seriously nothing else has quite measured up.  So it would seem that this is that low hanging fruit in my budget.

I think I have Starbucks coffee at least once a day 5 or more days per week and occasionally I will have it twice on Tuesday.  Since Tuesday is a social coffee between classes with a new friend before my 4pm class on research methods begins, I won’t be giving that one up.

Through the power of pinterest I found a copycat recipe for one of my favorite fall drinks.  Disclaimer it doesn’t quite do the trick if you are craving that salted carmel mocha but it sure will replace my morning latte – at least until I find a copycat for that.

I adapted the recipe from Eat Craft Parent.  I made a few tweaks for my convince and my tastes.

Here is what you need:

  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate almond milk
  • 1 brewed k-cup of Starbucks carmel coffee
  • 1 tbs carmel coffee syrup
  • 1 tbs toasted hazelnut coffee syrup
  • Sea salt

Here is what you do:

  • brew the k-cup.  I made a 16 oz cup and added the coffee to taste.
  • While the k-cup is brewing put the hazelnut syrup, the carmel syrup, a dash of sea salt and the 1/2 cup almond milk into a sauce pan.  Heat until warm.
  • Pour into a mug and add the brewed k-cup to taste.  I like the coffee flavor so I used almost the whole 16 oz.

*if you choose to put whip on your coffee I would recommend holding the tbs of carmel to drizzle over the top of the whip and sprinkle sea salt on top*

I am sure it is a million times yummier with the whip on top but not only is Starbucks tough on your wallet, it’s tough on your waste line too.

This cup turned out to be 140 calories

  • K-cup – 10 cals
  • Almond milk – 50 cals
  • Carmel syrup – 80 cals
  • Sea salt – 0 cals

Of course using sugar free syrup would help bring that down even further.  The real deal with no whip and nonfat milk is going to run you about 290 calories for 16 oz!

Happy sipping!

Leave a Reply

