Amazed

Image

 

It’s cliche at best but the time sure has flown by with my little girl.  It seems like I just blinked and she went from a baby who needed me for everything to an independent, book reading, opinion forming, demanding year and a half old girl.  All of a sudden I am no longer reporting her age in months – 19 month old doesn’t seem right – and she is responding to commands and even providing yes or no to questions like ‘A do you want water’ or ‘Do you want to go to Daddy’? 

I am amazed everyday by what I find her doing.  In this picture I like to say she was studying because that book is How to Babysit a Grandpa and she was just getting ready to head over to grandma and grandpa’s so mommy and daddy could have a date night.  She wakes up in the middle of the night with this cold asking for water, somehow knowing instinctively that a drink will help clear her throat.  After we change her diaper or wipe her nose she wants a wipe so she can do the same to her baby.  She even rocks her baby and soothingly says ‘shhh, baby’.  

I think she learns at least one new word or concept everyday.  The newest with this crud was ‘blow’.  Sure she doesn’t exactly blow her nose but when you tell her to she make the sound and effort.  I know she is still young, for those of you thinking ‘just wait’ please keep it to yourself.  I am perfectly well aware that my parenting journey has just started and there is so much more to come and I am becoming more and more painfully aware of how quickly it will be here.  On one hand there is no point in worrying about the future because I have years before she goes to school or starts driving, or moves out of the house.  But on the other hand I am going to blink and all of a sudden she is going to be a beautiful woman walking down the aisle and starting a family of her own, should that be in the cards for her.  

Leave a Reply

