Water in my basement – progress 1

I wrote about all the water in my basement – or at this point maybe the basement in all the water – and after today’s hard work I thought a progress report was only appropriate.

IMG_0974

My brother and sister came over today while my mom watched baby toddler A.  We successfully moved the love seat, entertainment center, television, and numerous toys from the basement up into the main floor of the house.  Its cramped but it works nicely – for now.  It is already adding to my desire to move though!  In addition to getting all of that stuff relocated to other rooms in our house my brother and hubby brought a desk, display case with contents, and a large comic book/sports card collection over to my in-laws for safe keeping until we get the basement ‘fixed’.  We also moved our garage sale things out to the garage (good place for it anyway right?)

We moved all of the things (swing, bouncy seat, high chair, etc.) as well as some bigger fun toys (tent with tunnel, bouncing zebra) over to my parents house for A to play with when she is there until we have room in our house again.  She spends three days a week during the Summer at my mom’s for daycare so timing worked well.

A’s room has never had so much stuff or so much space – she can actually play with the toys in her own room!

IMG_0992 IMG_0993

My office is a little crowded with the futon from our formal living room now occupying one wall but I kind of enjoy it being in my office.  Not sure it is great staging when it’s time to move but it works for now.

IMG_0996 IMG_0995 IMG_0994

I am painfully aware of how small my formal living room space is in its current state but I love the style.  I think we did an awesome job basically combining to living rooms into one – at least for the short term.

IMG_0991 IMG_0990

Now that our basement is mostly empty (what remains will either stay down there on an interior wall or go out to the garage) we just need to get that dang carpet up.  We need to cut it into strips in order to get it out of the house and into the garbage but it doesn’t cut well.  Suggestions would be met with welcome arms!

IMG_0989 IMG_0988 IMG_0987 IMG_0984 IMG_0983

As big of a pain as this is proving can’t wait for the final product and the upgrades coming.  I am hoping to paint, fix or put in new baseboards, make a fun activity corner for A, get a large wall unit for great toy storage/organization, and add some great drying racks to the wall in the laundry space.

Now to shower off the ick from the day and go have dinner and take in a movie with the hubby.

2 thoughts on “Water in my basement – progress 1

  1. Pingback: Blessed moments – basement update | Becoming Supermom

  2. Pingback: When it rains it pours – how home ownership and pinterest ruined my life | Becoming Supermom

Leave a Reply

