Three things I learned this week – and it is only Wednesday

This week has been CRAZY.  

Crunch time for my online distance learning class and I find that I have yet again let myself down.  I didn’t learn the things I wanted to, I am pushing through to get it all done, my home and my daughter have both received less of my time than they should, my husband has been lucky to get a hello,  don’t really have a great circle of women to lean on right now for these weeks, and the list goes on and on and on.

So I thought it would be centering to share the three things I learned this week.  Unfortunately most of these are lessons learned twice over by now.

1.)  I am getting way too old for this shit.  

So here is the thing – I can’t pinpoint what it is I want to do with my life or find any conviction to say ‘yes this is what I want my life to look like’.  Without that focus I lack the ability to make changes that get me closer to that goal.

2.)  Something HAS to change.  

Refere back to number 1.  The fact is I am not getting younger.  I don’t mind the hard work, the learning, or the whatever else comes my way but for crying out loud I have been dividing my attention in 15 different directions for too long.  It would be nice to be able to focus.

3.)  My life requires some serious prioritization – AKA my parents were right.

As long as I can remember I have had this insane drive to over schedule myself at ALL times.  My dad always used to tell me you can’t do everything.  I would argue that I was doing ‘everything’ so he started changing his comment to ‘you can’t give everything 100%’.  It pains me to admit – but he is right!

What are your tips for keeping cool under pressure and taking a step back to reprioritize?

2 thoughts on “Three things I learned this week – and it is only Wednesday

  1. Wowza…I remember this feeling of trying to do too many things and not doing any of them well. You’re probably being too hard on yourself, but my tip is to make a list (or many lists). Start with what you want your life to be. What are three things you can “fix” this week, this month, this year.
    I get so much satisfaction from crossing something off a list. It inspires me to move on to the next thing.
    thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

