Groceries week of July 6th -$34.25

 

 

Today was grocery day and with a little planning ahead and trips to two stores I was able to get groceries for a week for my family of 3 for $34.25!  In the world we live in today with ever rising grocery costs, I’d say that is pretty darn good.

So first thing is first and you HAVE to menu plan.  So for the week this is what we have

Sunday: 1348 cals

  • Breakfast crock pot egg bake – this will cook overnight and be ready when we wake up
  • Apple and cheese stick
  • PB&J and grapes
  • Raisins
  • Spaghetti squash with meat sauce

Monday: 1240 cals

  • Leftover egg bake
  • Apple and cheese stick
  • Left over spaghetti squash
  • Kiwi
  • Brunswick Stew – this was a crockpot meal pulled from my freezer

Tuesday: 1312 cals

  • Leftover egg bake
  • Yogurt
  • Leftover Brunswick stew
  • Carrots and veggie dip
  • Macaroni and cheese and peas

Wednesday: 1207 cals

  • Bagel and cream cheese
  • Yogurt
  • Left over mac and cheese and peas
  • Carrots and veggie dip
  • Tacos

Thursday: 1267 cals

  • Bagel and cream cheese
  • Apple and Cheese
  • Taco salad
  • Carrots and veggie dip
  • Little Caesar’s pizza – this will come out of discretionary/eating out fund and will cost $5.00 + tax

Friday: 1422 cals

  • Toast and Jam
  • Apple and PB
  • Leftover pizza
  • Carrots and veggie dip
  • Pork chop, scalloped potatoes, corn – pork chops were also a freezer meal

Normally I would have this order reversed and see what I had in my kitchen first, but sometimes you just gotta power through making a list and move on with life.  So after making the menu I wrote down everything I needed for the week (including quantities) and went through my fridge, freezer, cupboards, and pantry area to ensure I don’t re-buy things I already had on hand.  (usually this step is an inventory to see what meals I can make with what I already have but today we were short on time)

Next is to shop.  I like to try and stop at Aldi first and get what I can – prices there can’t seem to be beat.  Today I spent $24.28 at Aldi and purchased the majority of my list.  Next stop is Target and I spent $9.97 to round out the day.  Since that was $5.75 under budget I like to get the remaining amount out in cash to put aside for a future trip to stock up and do freezer meals at Sam’s club.  Since the smallest denomination I could take out was $10, I did that and will likely use $5 of that for pizza on Thursday.

In addition for the supplies needed for the menu above I also purchased applesauce, bananas, and extra carrots to make breakfast cookies for my daughter and an additional purchase from Aldi of Freezy pops for the summer.  She is so picky we need to get the veggies in somewhere.

 

2 thoughts on “Groceries week of July 6th -$34.25

  1. Pingback: Pinching pennies grocery shopping | Becoming Supermom

  2. Pingback: Meal Plan 7/12/14 – $35.94 | Becoming Supermom

Leave a Reply

