Meal Plan 7/12/14 – $35.94

IMG_1135

This week I felt so good about my grocery shopping!  In addition to staying under my $40 budget, I was also able to score a splurge or two.  Let’s start with the menu.  The link will open up the complete menu for the week with calorie counts.  You will notice that dinner for Saturday is left blank – this is usually figured out on Saturday morning when making the grocery list for the day.  Additionally, if you saw last weeks menu you’ll notice some of the calorie counts are higher this week.  I am on vacation this week and even though I am not going any where it is fun to act like I am on a care-free sun filled adventure.

I had a lot of the items already at home but here is the list that I needed from the store:

Aldi:

  • Almond milk
  • Carrots
  • Celery 
  • Shredded cheese
  • grapes
  • Romaine Lettuce
  • 3 green bell peppers (2 for recipes 1 for snacking)
  • Coffee creamer
  • Greek yogurt cups (I bought 4)
  • Burger buns
  • Bag of salad mix
  • Loaf of bread
  • 1 cucumber 

And as a bonus I picked up:

  • 1 watermelon
  • 1 lb of strawberries

My total at Aldi was 28.46 and even gave us bonus healthy snacking options.

Target:

  • Diced ham
  • 1 lb of bacon
  • A dozen eggs

My total at Target was 7.48

I have started a list of common items I pick up and track the price.  This helps me know where I should buy what – just because Aldi has it, doesn’t mean there isn’t a better deal somewhere else. By doing this and checking the ad before leaving my house I was able to see that eggs and bacon were not only a better value (I also take note of flavor/quality) but a better price elsewhere this week.

If you saw my last week’s shopping trip, you already know the excess from the budget gets set aside and used for a freezer stock up.  This is usually meals that can be put in the crockpot or thrown in the oven during the winter nights when we are really busy.  It takes some of the prep work out of cooking and saves some money by being able to buy on sale or in bulk.  I am hoping that next month I will be able to do a freezer stock up – so far I have an additional $9.81 to add to the budget.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Meal Plan 7/12/14 – $35.94

  1. Pingback: When it rains it pours – how home ownership and pinterest ruined my life | Becoming Supermom

  2. Woah. Prices are drastically different here – I’m lucky to get a dozen eggs for $6, let alone eggs and bacon and ham for $7.48! Now I see how you can budget $40. A good shop for me is under $150!

      • That large of a difference surprises me although I know there is a huge difference between the midwest US and the costal areas. I had been spending about $170 per week for my family of three and realized I was tossing too much and never seemed to have anything to eat. I found the menu/planning/shopping my own kitchen before heading to the store really cut down a ton.

Leave a Reply

