Meal Plan 7/20/14 – $30.71

IMG_1200

Who doesn’t love ending a week off on a high note?  Today’s grocery trip made up for any hint of inadequate productivity for the past week.  

Let’s start with a recap of this past week.  Groceries came in under $36 and I felt like we were doing good but I had taken the week off of work and quickly fell into vacation mode.  Since I wasn’t going anywhere I decided to spend our dinning out budget.  Then came Thursday.  This was the first day of our garage sale and the day I was inspired to paint my kitchen.  Which resulted in a beautiful paint color but a lack of time and motivation for cooking – out the husband and baby went to get some pizza.  

The next day I just HAD to finish the project with a nice new backsplash – it turned out beautifully – but breakfast became an on the go situation.  Basically what you need to know is that we did minimal cooking so some of the meals for this week are repeats.  While this was hard on the dinning out budget last week it helps the grocery budget this week.

Today’s meal plan looks like this: meal plan

Mostly what I needed was veggies.  My parents invited me and my little girl to go down to the Minneapolis farmer’s market with them.  Since something has taken over my garden and killed off my cucumbers and I can’t stand the waxy ones that come from the store I thought it would be great to tag along.  So after making my menu I wrote my list in two sections – produce and non produce. 

I found the following at the farmer’s market and got way more than I actually needed.  My total only came to $15.

  • White or yellow onions (I am not really picky on this)
  • Cilantro
  • Cucumbers (I purchased the equivalent to 1 peck of apples – I only needed about 3)
  • 3 Tomatoes
  • Green onions
  • 8 Purple onions – these were bonus

I was unable to find the potatoes that I needed so those went onto the ‘non produce’ list.  I was also able to split my cucumbers and onions with my parents and get some sugar snap peas and some green beans that I will be using for the veggies with the chicken breast.  I don’t know if your local farmers market does this at all but there are some vendors who buy bulk produce and sell it cheap instead of growing their own.  That is great and all and sometimes you can find great deals but I really try to avoid this when there is the option of fresh picked, homegrown foods.  So everything I bought today was farm grown here in MN.

From Aldi I still needed a few things – and of course picked up a bonus or two.  My total there came to $15.71.  I bought:

  • Almond milk
  • Tomato paste
  • Chicken breast
  • Chicken broth
  • Sour cream
  • 10 lbs of baking potatoes
  • Canned pear slices
  • Bananas
  • Wheat bread

Over the week I also organized my fridge with baskets for each day of the week.  Each basket contains the contents for a dinner for a given night of the week.  This should help make it easier to stick to home cooked meals.  I also took the time to make my veggie snacks to go for the work days through Wednesday.  This should help cut down on my prep time in the morning and the night before.

Now just to make it through Monday …

Leave a Reply

