Groceries July 28

image

So the grocery budget got a little out of control today … but it’s okay because I have been under budget recently.  The beauty of good budgeting and planning ahead!

Some of the meals you will see this week are repeats of last week due to leftovers and such.  Our dog has been sick and it has caused a little extra stress and distraction.  We needed to have someone sit with her while I went to the grocery store today while my husband worked and I needed to load up on a few goodies my brother could eat while he watches her tomorrow while my husband and I work.

If you are paying attention to the calories I include in the list note two things 1 – these are approximations and 2 – I will add treats like a coffee or an extra amount of something here and there to ensure I meet at least 1200 calories per day.  Here is the meal plan.

Today I spent $35.75 at Aldi and got:

  • Bread
  • Almond milk
  • 3 pizzas
  • Eggs
  • Watermelon
  • Grapes
  • Vanilla yogurt
  • Canned pears and mandrain oranges
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 3 bell peppers
  • Diced tomatoes with green chilies
  • 2 cans kidney beans
  • 2 cans chili beans
  • Peanut butter
  • Shredded cheddar cheese
  • Cooking spray
  • Biscuits
  • 1 bag of chips

The chips, pizzas, and watermelon were in large part to have food my brother could snack on tomorrow.

Target was a $34.15 trip.  They had a coupon for $5 off a $20 or more meat purchase and pasta sauce and tomato sauces were both on sale and on a cartwheel deal.  As a result of these two things I stocked up and did a future purchase for meat.  I used my surplus budget from previous shopping trips to fund the stock up and I will get at least one or two freezer meals out of this week. Had I used both the gift cards I had from Target (one for a purchase and one by using shop kicks) I would have been at $24.15 for this trip and still had $0.10 in my surplus for future shopping trips.  At any rate here is what I got from Target:

  • Jimmy Dean sausage
  • 4 large cans tomato sauce (2 cans for future use)
  • 4 Jars of pasta sauce (3 for future use)
  • Water-chestnuts
  • Rice noodles
  • Brown rice (will have left overs for future use)
  • 1 lb ground beef (future use)
  • 2 cans hominy beans
  • 1 bag apples
  • 20 oz ground turkey
  • Beef thin top steak
  • Diced ham
  • 1/2 gallon 1% milk (again for my brother)
  • String cheese

Many of these are meals from Pinterest.  It has been requested that I share the recipes that I am using.  I won’t be posting all of them but I will be linking to the recipes on interest below.  Throughout the week I will share some of the ‘family’ recipes I use that I grew up with.

Breakfasts:

Dinner:

This week you can look forward to at least one and maybe two ‘family recipes’.  These are things that my mom made growing up but I modified to my own liking.  The turkey chili recipe will for sure make an appearance this week.

Happy eating.

 

One thought on “Groceries July 28

  1. Pingback: Homemade Chili | Becoming Supermom

Leave a Reply

