Homemade Chili

image

I owed this recipe to go with last weeks meal plan but I am just getting around to it.

Some how things are still just a little crazy and stressful and we have added a new hassle to the mix resulting in an unexpected day at home with my little girl.  It has been one of those weeks for far too many weeks that calls for a little comfort food.  I was had planned on cooking some last night but with family in town we had a BBQ at my parent’s house instead so today became the day!

When I was little and my mom used to make chili for us I was always amazed and thought it was a huge, time consuming meal.  There is just something about a warm bowl of chili!  When I moved out and got her recipe for myself I was amazed at how easy it really was.  I mean opening all those cans is annoying but … its easy to just throw in the crockpot and move on with life.  Over the years I have added to her recipe to create something all my own.  

image

 

What you’ll need:

Basics:

  • Ground meat – I like to use ground turkey
  • 2 – 29 oz cans of tomato sauce
  • 2 cans hominy beans
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 2 cans chili beans
  • chili powder – to taste

brown the meat and add all the above into a big pot and warm through for a nice basic chili.  Its really that simple, but I like to change it up a little so I also used:

The extras:

  • 1 onion
  • 1 stalk of celery
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1/2 cup brown rice
  • 1 can tomatoes with diced green chilies
  • ground cumin
  • ground red pepper

1.)  I start by chopping the onion, I like very fine bits but you can make it as fine or course as you like.

image

2.) Add the drained (but not rinsed) can of tomato and chilies, chopped onion, and ground meat to a frying pan.  This is where I like to do most of the seasoning.  I use ground red pepper and ground cumin at this step.  If I am adding any extra chilies like jalapeño or banana pepper I like to put them in with the meat as well.

image

3.) If you are using a crockpot set it to low for 8 hours and add in the chopped celery, rinsed hominy, kidney and black beans, the chili beans with sauce, both cans of tomato sauce, brown rice, and chopped green pepper to the crockpot.  If you are going stove top, add the above into a soup pot on low heat.

image

4.) Once the ground meat is done – add to the (crock)pot.

image

5.) Mix throughly and add chili powder to taste.  Place lid on pot.  If you are using a stove top stir often and heat until warm through and/or celery reaches desired tenderness and rice is cooked through.  If in a crockpot – set it and forget it … at least until dinner time.

6.) Serve with desired toppings.

I like to play with the level of spice and the add ins based on audience.  I really like corn so I will sometimes add it to the mix but my husband isn’t such a fan so sometimes I will just throw it in my bowl.

The above recipe provided my family of 3 with dinner tonight and 4 additional left over meals as well as 1 freezer portion that will give dinner with 2 additional left over meals and 1 freezer portion with dinner and 3-4 left over meals.  This assumes a serving size of 1 cup. 

Happy cooking.

Leave a Reply

