Meal plan week of August 11 – 17

IMG_1134

This is my first attempt at providing the meal plan in retrospect.  I felt like this would be a better way to do it since it would give me the ability to be as accurate as possible and incorporate any last minute changes – because of course my family has those.  Unfortunately this is a work in progress and the ability to keep it organized got a little lost.

Here is the break down I can provide.

meal plan

The beef stew just followed the directions of the back of the season packet.

Shopping was a little over budget and I can’t really understand why except that I did end up needing some ‘bakery items’ like vanilla extract and we bought more meat than normal.

Total I spent $56.86 plus got $15 back in gift cards from an additional Target purchase.  Factoring in the gift cards I was $1.86 over budget this week.

Target: $14.75

  • Rice – 2 bags, 1 for surplus – sale and cartwheel
  • Almond milk – coupon used
  • 1/2 gallon of 1% milk – cartwheel coupon
  • Golden plump chicken breast – coupon for $3 off
  • McCormick beef stew season packets – 2 packets, on sale – one now, one later
  • Picco de gallo
  • One additional item I can’t identify from the receipt

Aldi: $40.11

  • Yogurt tubes
  • Stew meat
  • Heavy whipping cream
  • Cinnamon rolls
  • Avocados
  • Cilantro
  • Deli sliced cheese
  • Coffee creamer
  • Iceberg lettuce
  • Bananas
  • Lime
  • Grapes
  • Baby carrots
  • Celery
  • Tortilla chips
  • Apples
  • Raisins
  • Peanut butter
  • Lite syrup
  • Vanilla extract
  • Flour tortillas

Nearby Local Farm: $2.00

  • 3 green peppers

I also used resources we have like our garden, veggies from my grandma’s garden, and surplus meat from my parents.  The point is eating well is doable when you are cooking based on what is in your home or available to you.

In my attempt to spend more responsibly I have created a budget for my family but failed to really understand our spending first.  As a result our budget is 100% out of wack so this month will be more of an inventory and check agains what I originally proposed and give us a sort of baseline to work from.  Hopefully this baseline is being created off of one of the most expensive months we have had in a while.  Between Lucy getting sick and requiring vet visits and pharmacy bills that are insane but also the unfortunate expensive change in diet that resulted in a $100 food bill for the dog yesterday, and our visits to the urgent care with our daughter and the Target clinic and the resulting $40 in OTC treatment, $150ish rx treatment and the ‘I just can’t have the energy to come home and cook’ syndrome, I can’t remember the last time we have spent this much.

How do you run your family budget?

Leave a Reply

