The toy purge

ry=400-7

Tomorrow afternoon our house will be full of friends and family to celebrate A’s second birthday.  Especially with our basement still being out of commission we are a little cramped in our home.  I thought it would be the perfect time to take a quick first pass at all of A’s toys.  As I thought about it, I thought it would be a great addition  to my minimizing challenge.

I have to admit, I was much more excited for the challenge on day one before responsibilities started to set in.  The past week has been particularly stressful and I may have let it slide a little.  But the toys!

I took 2 totes and a trash can to my little girl’s bedroom.  I found broken things that couldn’t be fixed and out they went.  Next I found all of these little baby toys.  She really doesn’t need those little teething keys or soft plush rattles any more.  And the toys we got her to encourage tummy time?  Yeah, time to go.  From her bedroom alone I ended up with almost half a tote of toys to store and about 1/4 of a tote of sell/donate.  Next was our living room.  I thought I would end up with way more than I did but over all I think I did well.  My the end of the day I cleared out 4 small bins in her toy organizer and filled the ‘baby toys’ bin about 3/4 of the way full.  I am resisting the urge to just get rid of them all now – I would hate for A to have a brother or sister and have no toys to play with.

It felt so good to go through everything, it might have to happen twice yearly – once before her birthday and once before Christmas.  I really like the idea as she gets older of teaching her the concept of sharing and making room for new things as she helps someone else out.  While our family is still so young, it’s hard to just donate the toys she doesn’t play with now but I like the idea of making that part of our birthday/holiday tradition.

What ways do you help control the clutter in your home?

Leave a Reply

