Following Dreams and Bucking Expectations

images

Today has been a huge day for me and also my family.  We are starting a new journey together – one that is exciting and scary all at once.  After 11 years – which includes my entire adult life and the majority of my working life – I am leaving my job.  In 2 weeks I will walk through those doors for the last time – at least for now.

I have been agonizing over this decision and yesterday I finally found the clarity I needed to make the jump.  I have reviewed and prepared the best I am able and we are going to be just fine but I still can’t help but wonder if I am putting a life my husband and I have spent 7 years building at risk.  Ultimately the decision came down to this for me: how do I want to raise my child and what would I want her to do?

If she were in my shoes – and I in my mother’s – what I would want for my daughter would be to not leave any stone unturned.  To pursue her dreams and passions and to be happy.  I would hope that she has a support system that says ‘you are awesome and you can do this’ – and the best way to teach her to have courage and strength is to practice it myself.

View More: http://michellegrosephotography.pass.us/chantel

I have been waiting to feel competent and confident enough to be qualified to make such decisions and it hit me – this is a lot like having a baby … if you wait until you are ready, you will never get there.  So here we are.

I am a 27 year old married mother of 1.  I have the most amazing little girl and the best husband a girl could ask for.  I am capable and beyond qualified to make decisions about my own destiny.  And my daughter will be better for seeing that life doesn’t just happen to you – you have to make choices and participate.

View More: http://michellegrosephotography.pass.us/chantel

Before you think I just went crazy one day and decided to give notice, you should know I thought this over long and hard.  Something for sure had to give – I am not Wonder Woman after all.  I considered quitting school.  Not only would my husband not entertain the idea, it wasn’t truly what I wanted but what I thought everyone expected and it wouldn’t get me any closer to being happy.

So here is the plan.  I will finish my kinesology degree at the end of Summer.  I will take my MCAT and likely apply to medical school.  When I am done I will practice family medicine.  Is it crazy?  Possibly?  Impossible?  Only if I let it be.

I am giving myself 1 year to see progress towards this goal.  I am shooting for the moon.  Men have landed there before – and if I happen to fall among the stars?  At least I will be in good company.

This next year is going to be a crazy ride – you should stick around and see where this journey leads.

10 thoughts on “Following Dreams and Bucking Expectations

  1. Pingback: Roadblock – Fear | Becoming Supermom

  2. Pingback: Remember why, forget about how – Day 41 | Becoming Supermom

  3. Pingback: Day 28 – Potty Training and Peace | Becoming Supermom

  4. Pingback: Day 15 – Big Girl Panties | Becoming Supermom

  5. Pingback: Day 13 – Happy New Year | Becoming Supermom

  6. Pingback: Day 3 | Becoming Supermom

  7. Pingback: Day 1 | Becoming Supermom

  8. Pingback: Enough – The Unmasking | Becoming Supermom

  9. Excellent! It’s a scary and wonderful decision–where there’s a will there’s a way! That’s what I told myself the last 2 times I quit my job–once in 2010 when I was beyond stressed with grad school and work and again in 2013 when life was not going the way I expected. Both times Ryan and I have come out the other side stronger as a couple and each time I have felt a step closer to my career goals. Enjoy the time off and don’t settle for less than you deserve!

    • Thank you – I think the tipping point was realizing how unhealthy I was becoming trying to manage WAY too many things. I think it is going to be so nice to focus and I am SO lucky to have a husband who not only emotionally supports my decision but is in my corner cheering me on.

Leave a Reply

