Day 34 – tomorrow

20150119_072348

Baby Olaf’s first picture.

This week has been another fast moving crazy week.

It was full of appointments that were both fun and not so fun.  Monday found me at the dentist – good news, no cavities – but I still can’t find it an enjoyable way to pass the time.  But by Friday we were ready to hear our little baby’s heartbeat for the first time.  Unfortunately, the midwife was unable to find the heartbeat via doppler.

So despite my early protests of an early ultrasound, we changed our Friday afternoon plans and found ourselves in the waiting room of radiology.  Baby seems to be doing just fine, but according to radiology we have almost an extra week before baby comes.

On one hand that is great news.  Trust me when I say we are going to need all the time we can get to get our house in order. It wouldn’t be such a big deal except for the completely torn apart basement that we need to get refinished so we can empty the bedroom that will be nursery number 2.  The bad news is rather simple – I have been so sick feeling most of the time that some days I lay in bed for most of the day.  I was counting down the days until I hit the second trimester which should bring a little relief from the tiredness and the nausea.

Today’s tomorrow brings the start of my new semester – and along with it, tennis.  I had thought I would be hitting perfect timing to be getting more energy and less nausea in the first or second week of class – instead we are looking at the second or third week.  I suppose that still isn’t terrible, but it is a little tough to swallow.

The other problem that arises with the change in due date is the timing for my last set of classes.  Originally I had hoped I would be able to finish all class this summer before the baby was born.  Unfortunately, some of the classes I need aren’t offered in the summer.  So, I figured, what’s one more light load semester?  It really should have been no big deal.  If the baby was born on time (or close to it) I would probably even be close enough to 6 weeks postpartum to start my yoga and posture class.  Unfortunately, this week push back is likely going to result in me taking off the fall semester to be able to ensure that I heal from labor and delivery, that I have enough time at home to adjust to two kids and to ensure I have enough time to develop a solid nursing routine with baby #2.

I feel like tomorrow keeps getting pushed off just a little further into the future and like this marathon just keeps having more miles added.  It has definitely tested my resolve and has made me think about what really matters.  It really comes down to how badly I want to finish school.  Does it matter if it is this year or next?  Probably not.  What matters is that tomorrow is coming and each today brings tomorrow one day closer.

I might be going two steps forward and one step back but progress cannot be ignored and frankly these types of ‘set backs’ exist to keep those who don’t really want what they have their eyes set on from going any further.  Metaphorically speaking it’s time to bust out my climbing gear and get over this brick wall.

Leave a Reply

