Another day, another project – Coffee Sleeve

Today I spent just over 3 hours at the lab to be sure I didn’t have gestational diabetes.  If you haven’t ever been through the process, they start by taking a fasting blood glucose and then asking you to drink a very sugary beverage in about 5 minutes.  The drink on an empty stomach can cause nausea and/or vomiting.  They then ask you to hang out for 3 hours and take a blood glucose reading every hour.  As long as you pass at least 2 of the 3 hourly readings, your free and clear.  I passed all of the readings without a problem.  If you are lucky, you pass the 1 hr non-fasting test and get to skip the 3 hr test.  I wasn’t that lucky with my first pregnancy and I wasn’t that lucky with this one.

The down side is that the sugar provides for a very active baby.  On the other hand you have 3 hours to just sit.  I don’t know if that is a good thing or a bad thing.  The time I had I used to complete another project.  Not one that I really had on my ‘to-do-before-baby-list’, but one item to cross off my endless list of started projects nonetheless.

20150520_193847

This is the second coffee sleeve I have knit but the first completed one using the double pointed needle technique.  I can’t decide which I like better from a finished product perspective but from the perspective of working on the item, I think I much prefer to use the magic loop method.  I found that it was easier to see what I was doing and I didn’t have to use a stitch marker which saves a little time and doesn’t interrupt the process so much.

I am hoping that tonight I will have a little bit of time/energy for one more project.  Again, not on the to-do list I mentioned yesterday but a project I have had in the works since Black Friday 2014 and intended to complete by Christmas.  So well overdue.  I have so many projects in the works that were really just for fun – so as I complete them, I’ll start to post them in my Etsy shop.

Leave a Reply

